GP FRANCE – Paul Ricard

The French Grand Prix, initially called the Grand Prix de l'ACF, is a speed motorsport race scoring in the Formula 1 World Championship.

The motorsport Grand Prix originated in France and the 1906 French Grand Prix was an international race organized by the Automobile Club de France at the Sarthe circuit, with the participation of thirty-two vehicles. The name Grand Prize referred to the prize of 45,000 French francs to the winner of the test.1 This coin was worth 0.290 grams of gold per unit, so that the prize was equivalent to 13 kg of gold.

The first world championship was organized in 1925 and also included the Italian, Belgian and Indy 500 Grand Prix. The French Grand Prix has been part of the Formula 1 championship since its inception in 1950. There have been several circuits where it has been contested the French Grand Prix. Between 1991 and 2008, the race was run at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours. Formula 3000 International and later the GP2 Series have served as opening act from 1999 to 2008.

Since 2004, financial problems have called into question the participation of the French Grand Prix in the Formula 1 championship. That circuit was last raced in 2008. Ten years later, this competition was held again at Paul Ricard.

Los comentarios están cerrados.