GP JAPAN – Suzuka

The Japanese Grand Prix is ​​a motorsport race that is run in that country as part of the Formula 1 championship. Its traditional place at the end of the calendar meant that championships were generally decided at this event. Of the first 19 Grands Prix held in Japan, the world title was decided in 12 of them (1976, 1987-1991, 1996, 1998-2000, 2003 and 2011, being 1976 at Fuji Speedway and the remaining 11 at the Suzuka Circuit).

Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna starred in the 1989 and 1990 editions when they disputed the drivers' title, in both cases with retirements after collisions between them. In the late 1990s and early 2000s, Michael Schumacher had great duels with his opponents on duty, specifically Mika Häkkinen, Kimi Räikkönen and Fernando Alonso.

In 2007 and 2008, the Japanese Grand Prix returned to Fuji, now owned by Toyota. Then a rotation between Fuji and Suzuka was defined, but the economic crisis at the end of the decade motivated Toyota to stop hosting the race in Fuji, so that Suzuka returned to be a permanent host.

Los comentarios están cerrados.