The capital of Spain summons the top ATP tennis players at a perfect time to visit Madrid and at the same time enjoy all the excitement of tennis.

The Madrid Masters began as an official tennis tournament that was held annually in Madrid (Spain), in the Madrid Arena (stadium) (from 2002 to 2008) on a fast surface.

Today, this official event is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 of the ATP men's circuit, being the fourth to be held this season; and of the WTA Premier Mandatory series in the professional women's circuit, and its official name is Mutua Madrid Open, and it will be held in the Caja Mágica pavilion.

Considering the men's tournament, since 2009 it is the fourth Masters 1000 of the year, and it has been played on a clay surface, since 2009. It is the only one since the creation of this type of tournaments in 1990 that has been changed from place, date and surface. This tournament was played in the cities of Stockholm, Essen, Stuttgart and is currently played in Madrid. At first it was played on a synthetic carpet surface but when it moved to the Caja Mágica in Madrid in 2009 it also changed the surface, becoming this one on clay. Originally it was played in the month of October, being the eighth Master of the season. Since the restructuring of 2009, it has been held in the month of May, in the week in which the old Hamburg Master was previously held, before the Roland Garros Tournament, and after the Monte Carlo Master 1000 and before the Rome one.

Los comentarios están cerrados.